top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan

FO: Canadian Wool and Mohair Yarn

Updated: Aug 16, 2021

This yarn was spun from a non-superwash 70% wool and 30% mohair pin drafted roving (100 g) purchased from The Small Bird Workshop. It was marketed to be spun for nylon-free socks, which I found intriguing. I used a supported long draw, spun only until twist locked and plied more tightly. The yarn was spun Z and plied S, with a twist angle of 30° and a WPI averaging 13 WPI. It was not my most even spin, as I am very new to long draw, so it varied between worsted and fingering weight, with an approximate average of DK. There was a total of 232 yards (unwashed) in one skein, with a grist of 1054 ypp. There was a fair amount of VM in the fibre. Some of it I was able to pick out during either the spinning or the plying, but there is still some left in the final yarn. The yarn was finished by soaking, thwacking, and then hanging to dry. It was spun between May and June of 2021. I am not sure if I want to make socks out of this yarn, as it is a true woolen and I'm concerned about its durability. Perhaps if I make slippers and felt them a bit, they may be able to handle the wear. Anyone have experience making socks or slippers from woolen yarn?


A photograph of part of a skein of yarn, with a vine of a plant draped over top of it.
A Delicate Yarn

[Image Description: A photograph of a cream coloured skein of fuzzy yarn, untwisted, and resting on a wooden laminate floor. Tendrils of several succulent plants are draped across the yarn. The scene is lit by diffuse sunlight.]

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page